If you’re not committed to serve, withdraw, Wike tells commissioners


Rivers State governor, Nyesom Ezenwo Wike has charged the newly sworn-in commissioners  to maximise the opportunity given to them to serve the state diligently for the sake of posterity, or withdraw.

The governor has also reiterated the resolve of his administration to finish strong and do proper handover to his successor on  May 28, 2023.

Governor Wike maintained that what it meant is for every member of the State Executive Council to recommit themselves to the tasks assigned to them and achieve desired results.

He spoke at the swearing in of 18 new commissioners at the Executive Council Chambers of Government House, Port Harcourt, yesterday.

READ ALSO  Breaking: 3 Niger PDP Delegates Shot Dead By Bandits

Governor Wike observed that because some members of the State Executive Council did not appreciate the enormity of the task given to them, they take to sycophancy while abandoning their duties.

“So, if you know you’re not committed to serve the State, you better withdraw.

“This is the last lap of our administration. We have only seven months to end the tenure of this administration.  It is very important for you to understand that you have to double efforts to make sure that what we have started will be completed.”

Governor Wike emphasised the need for a proper handover to be done to the succeeding administration in good time.

He, therefore, charged the new commissioners and those already in the cabinet to begin compilation of necessary data so that the reports will be ready in good time.

“Make sure that you start preparing your handover note, not waiting for dying minute of the last week. You already know we must handover latest 28th May 2023.

READ ALSO  PDP reacts as Buhari honours Wike

“May 29, 2023 is swearing in. So, we will fully handover on 28th and then do ceremony of swearing in of the next governor on the 29th May 2023.”

Governor Wike announced the transfer of the Dr. Nabo Graham Douglas Campus of the Nigerian Law School project from the Ministry of Special Projects to the Ministry of Works.

The commissioners sworn in were: Prof. Princewill Chike, Jacobson Nbina, Mr. Ndubuisi Okere, Mrs Inime Aguma,  Charles Amadi, Mrs. Tonye Oniyinde Briggs, Mr. Ben Daminabo, Mr. Chris Finebone,  Austin Ben Chioma.

Others were Mr Uchechukwu Nwafor, Fred  Kpakol,  Emenike Oke, Mr. Prince Ohia, Prof. Kaniye Ebeku, Mr. Ezekiel Agri, Mrs. Ukiel Oyaghiri, Damiete  Miller  and  Emeka Onowu and Mr. Clifford Oparaodu as a member of the Rivers State Judicial Service Commission.

images 9 2

Recommended For You

About the Author: Akelicious

Leave a Reply