#Nigeriadecide2023: Election Update Extention Of Voting Period

#Nigeriadecide2023: Election Update Extention Of Voting Period

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the extension period of voting for the Presidential and National Assembly elections to Sunday, 26th February 2023.

According to INEC, this was necessitated due to the level violence experienced and ‘tactical disenfranchisement’ (late arrival of election materials) in some areas.

READ ALSO  We Did Not Disenfranchise Seven Million Citizens — INEC 

The affected areas/states where the election process would continue are:

  1. Lagos: Surulere, Ikate, Okota, Eti-Osa, Kosofe and Oshodi.
  2. FCT.
  3. Ebonyi.
  4. Rivers.
  5. Imo
  6. Anambra.
  7. Kano.
  8. Edo.
  9. Delta.
  10. Kogi.
  11. Bayelsa.
  12. Enugu.
  13. Sokoto.
  14. Taraba.
  15. Abia.
  16. Ekiti.

Voting in the affected areas will resume by 8am till 12pm on the 26th February 2023.

Therefore, it advised that staff and stakeholders continue to adhere to all Government/INEC directives and security advisories concerning this election.

READ ALSO  Man Narates How He Raped and Killed Lady

We would continue to monitor the situation and provide timely situation reports across the country.

images 9 2

Recommended For You

About the Author: Akelicious

Leave a Reply