Few Hours To Go, Buhari Approves Board Of Directors For Aviation Agencies

Few Hours To Go, Buhari Approves Board Of Directors For Aviation Agencies

A few hours before the exit of this administration, President Muhammadu Buhari has constituted the boards of aviation agencies.

The President also renamed some of the country’s airports after the past leaders, including Late Chief Obafemi Awolowo.

The approval of boards for the agencies is coming over a decade of running the agencies without boards, starting from the days of Sen. Stella Oduah as a minister in the sector.

The agencies include the Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN), the Nigerian Airspace Management Agency (NAMA), the Nigerian College of Aviation Technology (NCAT), the Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NiMet) and the recently created Nigerian Safety Investigation Bureau (NSIB).

READ ALSO  Peter Obi, Doyin Okupe Are Alive To Attest To What I Told Them - Sule Lamido

Stakeholders have consistently criticized Sen. Hadi Sirika, the former Aviation Minister for running the agencies without statutory boards as stipulated by the Acts establishing them.

A statement signed by Mr. Oluseyi Odutayo, Head of Press and Public Affairs Ministry of Aviation, indicated that NCAA is chaired by Mr. Lai Are with two institutional members representing the Ministries of Aviation and Defence.

READ ALSO  Oil Money Not Paid Into FG Account Since January - Peter Obi

FAAN would be chaired by Capt. Fola Akinkuotu, the former Managing Director of NAMA with five institutional members representing the Ministries of Aviation, Defence, Justice and Tourism and NCAT while Capt. Mukhtar Aminu and Mr. Chris Aligbe are members.

NAMA has Capt. Bashir Sodangi as Chairman with four institutional members representing Ministries of Aviation, Communications and Digital Economy, Transportation and Nigerian Air Force as well as two other members to represent public interest. They are Mr. Richard Aisuegbon and Suleiman Balarabe Ismail.

READ ALSO  Police kill notorious bandit in Kaduna State

NSIB would be chaired by Engr. Ezekiel Danboyi Zang with six other members including Engr. Suraj Abdulwahab, Engr. Ita Awak, Mall. Nasiru Anas, Alhaji Sani Maida, Engr. Pantani Esugo and Lawrence Fubara Anga, SAN.

images 9 2

Recommended For You

About the Author: Akelicious

Leave a Reply