Delta Civil Society Leaders Congratulate Anyafulu On Successful Inauguration, Set Agenda For Delta Lawmakers

Delta Civil Society Leaders Congratulate Anyafulu On Successful Inauguration, Set Agenda For Delta Lawmakers

Leaders of coalitions of Civil Society Organizations, NGOs, CBOs and FBOs, under the aegis of Credible Civic Space Actors in Delta State, has congratulated Hon. Barr. Bridget Anyafulu, on her successful inauguration as female Delta lawmaker representating Oshimili South Constituency in the Delta State House of Assembly (DTHA).

The Credible Civic Space Actors, in a press statement on Saturday, June 24, 2023, described Hon. Bridget Anyafulu as an astute gender activist of global reckoning, stating that her good tract record in the Nigeria and global civic space has stood the test of time.

They fervently prayed for Hon. Anyafulu’s success as a lawmaker, urging her to make unprecedented accomplishments in her four years tenure.

Continuing, they noted that the Gender Activist turned politician contributed hugely in deepening the civic space and actively led in different capacities such as Founder/Executive Director of Int’l Centre For Women Empowerment & Child Development (ICWECD).
While extolling Hon. Anyafulu’s unrivaled contributions to the growth of activism, the leaders of Credible Civic Space Actors noted that with dint of hard work, Anyafulu founded ICWCED in 2004 focusing on the thematic areas of promoting the rights of women and children; giving support for the development of families and less-privileged citizens in Delta State, Nigeria and globally.

They described her as a seasoned legal practitioner, globally acclaimed development worker and gender activist, stating that, “Anyafulu will bring her vast experience in development matters to bear in her legislative functions and make her an excellent lawmaker.”

READ ALSO  Peter Obi With Dangote, Otedola, Tony Elumelu At An Event

The leaders of the Delta CSOs, NGOs, CBOs, FBOs vouched for Anyafulu’s competence, adding that she had served in various capacity in the regime of the immediate past Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, which include former Senior Special Assistant, SSA On Child Rights Advocacy; former Executive Assistant on Special Duties; pioneer former Commissioner for Humanitarian Affairs & Community Support Services.

They charged her to make a difference at the state assembly and make Oshimili South stand out among the 25 local government areas of the state.

Continuing, they urged Hon Anyafulu to constantly promote vibrant, inclusive, free, secure, open and safe environment devoid of intimidation, reprehension and harassment.

They also congratulated the Speaker of 8th DTHA, Rt. Hon. Emomotimi Guwor, and the entire members of the state house of assembly on their successful inauguration.

The congratulatory statement which was signed by Comrade Bieni Victor Emenike, Founder/Executive Director of Delta Cultural Initiative (DCI-Worldwide); and Pastor Elvis Ekiah, Founder/Executive Director, Shield Development Foundation reads in part:

“We Congratulate one of our own, Hon. Barr. Bridget Anyafulu on her successful inauguration as member of the Delta State House of Assembly and wish you more upliftment and a successful tenure.
“Lord God, we pray that you lift her high and take her to places far above her expectations. Lord protect her, be her hope, strengthen, counsel and guide her with your words. Lord, be her confidence in your goodness and compassion. Lord God surround her with your favour and kindness as she resumes office this week as Delta Lawmaker, in Jesus name, Amen!”

READ ALSO  2023: Deji Adeyanju Begs Peter Obi To Step Down For Tinubu To Defeat Atiku

The statement continued, “Our demands and recommendations for the new Government and Governor Sheriff Oborevwori, and the entire members of the Delta State House of Assembly are: first, the Governor, and the lawmakers should support citizen-centred policies that will improve effectiveness in governance and responsiveness to the citizens. Second, there should be establishments of Civil Society Desks in all the 25 LGAs, three arms of Governments; and more importantly, in all the Ministries, Agencies, and Parastatals in the State.”

“Third, a Bill for the establishment of Directorate and Board of CSOs, NGOs, CBOs, FBOs in the State. Fourth, a Bill for inclusiveness, to strengthen systemic Participation of Civic Space Actors in every aspect of governance, government decision- making processes. Fifth, a Bill to mandate Civic Space Actors to monitor, evaluate Government projects in all sectors and other advocacy concerns, including State budgetary allocation to respond to civic space priorities as critical stakeholders in Open Government Partnership in line with United Nations OGP models”.

Hon. Anyafulu hails from Umudaike Village, Ogbomanta Quarters, Asaba, Oshimili South Local Government Area of Delta. She is a member of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), CLO, AI, FIDA, NCWS and a host of other international organizations. She holds LL.M, LL.B in Law from University of Lagos and University of Benin.

READ ALSO  Eagles Square look ahead of Tinubu’s inauguration (Video)


  1. Amb. Pst. Edewor Egedegbe, AICMC.
    Executive Director, Value Rebirth and Empowerment Initiative/Chairman Board of Directors, Human Rights Protection Congress.
  2. Dr. Andrew Agboro, Executive Director,
    One Love Community Development / Chairman, Non State Actors Organizational Forum DELCOF.
  3. Comrade Chief Sheriff Mulade, Founder/
    Executive Director,
    Center for Peace and Environmental Justice (CEPEJ)
  4. Comrade Sir Bieni Victor Emenike, Delta Cultural Initiative (DCI-WORLDWIDE) & Publisher of Delta Uhuru, Shocknaija News Online
  5. Dr. Martins Kediehon, Founder/ Executive Director, SAFE AID Foundation & President, Delta State Civil Society Organizations Community.
  6. Pastor Elvis Akiah, Founder/Shield Development Foundation
  7. Ambassador Uyero Erarawewho Jnr, The Board Chairman, Organization Of West African Youth.
  8. Hon. Prince Philip Chukwuedo Igwenwanne, Former SA Political To Immediate Past Governor Ifeanyi Okowa.
  9. Pastor Fransisca Davis
    Executive Director
    Hope Shield Initiative
  10. Dr. Chief Mrs Kadiri E.
    Executive Director
    Global Women for Quality and Sustainable Development (GWSD)
  11. Chief Mrs mercy Awhana
    Executive Director
    Hands to Help International Foundation.
  12. Mr. Emeka Nwokocha, Lead Manager, The Healthy Real Initiative for Valued Entrepreneurship, THRive.
  13. Dr. Godreignings I. Ojuneme, Delta State Coordinator, Safety & Rescue Emergency Respond Service Initiative, And National Community Policing Campaign.
  14. Pst. Mrs. Joy Tobele
    Executive Director, Initiative for Peace and Stability (IPAS)
  15. Smart Jikeme, Publisher @ Fidelity Reporters
images 9 2

Recommended For You

About the Author: Akelicious

Leave a Reply